Future of the single market on the agenda of the European Economic Area Council

Ministry for Foreign Affairs 18.11.2019 11.04
News item
Photo: European Union

The European Economic Area (EEA) Council will meet in Brussels on 19 November. The EU’s delegation will be led by Pekka Haavisto, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Finland. The EEA Council will assess the overall functioning and progress of the EEA agreement and hold an orientation debate on the single market beyond 2019.

In addition to Minister Haavisto, the meeting will be attended by the foreign ministers of Norway and Iceland, the permanent representative of Liechtenstein to the EU and representatives of the EU institutions.

The European Economic Area (EEA) consists of 31 countries: 28 EU member states and Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein. The EEA Council meets in Brussels twice a year at ministerial level.


Melissa Säilä, Counsellor, Ministry for Foreign Affairs, tel. +32 473 536 275

Pekka Haavisto
European Economic Area
internal market